Parental Wisdom – Principles, Values and Laughter

My Girls,

I don’t want to ramble on with useless information here.  My intent is to post meaningful wisdom as I encounter it.  I will not try and create a script for your life or a listing of things that you should or should not do, but I will try and express little pieces of logic and experience born knowledge that I have accumulated over my 38 years.  I know that with each passing day you are learning to be good people.  I hear you say please and thank you, I have seen genuine and pure joy in your eyes, and most importantly, I hear your laughter every single day.  You are so happy, and I am very grateful that your mother and I have created a home filled with laughter and happiness for you.  I pray this continues in your life and that you too will create a home filled with love, happiness and laughter. 

 Home is where you collect so many of your values.  I know that you look to me and witness my actions.  I am aware that you are listening to my words when I am on the phone with a friend, or at the checkout at the grocery store.  You see when I am agitated, and you see how I deal with that agitation.  You are my little watcher, and I greatly respect and appreciate that you are looking to me to guide you in your actions and how you should treat others.  As your parent it is my job to lead by example.  I confess to you right here, right now, that I am not perfect, and neither is your mother.  We are both good people of high moral character and sound judgement, but we need to be honest with you: we make mistakes too.  The important thing for all of us is that we continue to learn from our mistakes and that we remember them and the consequences of wrong actions or words and adjust ourselves accordingly, while remaining within our principles. 

That core of principle values will never steer you wrong, it is the lighthouse in a storm at sea that tells you which direction to follow.  Trust me when I tell you that it gets easier in time to follow your principles and values.  They become noble friends, companions who are there for you and your best interests.  They will coddle you at night and help you sleep soundly when you treat them well.  Listen to them, exercise them, give them the attention they deserve and need, and they will never steer you wrong.  My job is to show you these principles, to live these values, and to demonstrate the rewards that come from nurturing them.

You are embarking on a wonderful journey.  I hope to give you the tools you will need on this adventure.  I look forward to watching you use them, and building a wonderful life of love, laughter and pure happiness.  I love you so much.  I cannot express that enough.

Dad

About Wisdom4mygirls

Never wanting to settle for the current state of affairs and thrilled to be on this journey to learn, share, experience and laugh. My girls are my everything. People, business and human nature are my passion.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

