The Value of Simplicity

My Girls,

Henry David Thoreau said “Life is frittered away by detail.  Simplify, simplify”

There will be times in your life when you feel overwhelmed. There will be moments when you feel out of control. When you begin to encounter too much detail in your life you may experience symptoms such as a racing heart, increased breathing rate, restlessness, sorrow or many others. 

There are ways you can deal with these situations.  One method is simplifying.

Simplifying is taking a step back from everything that is going on around you and observing, rather than getting caught up in the details.  Simplifying allows you to see the big picture and helps you understand what needs to be done next.  Simplifying re-establishes your priorities.

If you ever feel out of control or if you find yourself unable to manage the chaos around you, please remember that I will be here to help you.  It is my job as your father to play the role of your supporter, your confidant, your advisor.    I love and respect this role.

If you would like to try to manage the problem on your own, take a moment for yourself, and ask these questions;

1) What is the core issue that I am dealing with?

2) What is this all about?

3) Why is this important to me?

4) Is there anything I can do to control this?

5) What’s the first positive step I can take to help myself out of this?

Speaking from my own experience I can tell you that sometimes none of these questions will apply, and sometimes all will assist you.  The most important part is that you force yourself to take the time to turn the volume down on all the noise that comes with excessive amounts of detail . 

Isolate yourself from any further input for a while.  Feel free to get away from it all.  Go to your room, turn off the phone, sit in  silence and quiet your mind.  The answers will come to you.

When you have regained your peace and when you feel your mind take back control, open the door to the world once again, and go forward with a smile. 

As I continue to provide my thoughts on life I will frequently encourage you to take time for yourself.  Take the time to be comfortable in your own skin.  By loving yourself and by being truly content with the person you are, you will find all of these “details” become so much easier to manage.  

I love you

Dad

About Wisdom4mygirls

Never wanting to settle for the current state of affairs and thrilled to be on this journey to learn, share, experience and laugh. My girls are my everything. People, business and human nature are my passion.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

